How many municipalities does South Cotabato have?

11 municipalities
Political Subdivisions. Upon its creation as a regular province, South Cotabato consisted of 11 municipalities, namely: Banga, General Santos (now a city), Glan, Kiamba, Koronadal, Maitum, Norala, Polomolok, Surallah, Tantangan and Tupi.

How many municipalities are in Cotabato?

17 municipalities
Cotabato comprises 17 municipalities and one city.

What is the municipality of Cotabato City?

Cotabato City

Cotabato City Kutawatu كوتاوات
Region Bangsamoro
Province Maguindanao (geographically only)
District 1st district of Maguindanao shared with Cotabato City
During Manobo period 13th century

What is the richest municipality in South Cotabato?

Polomolok is considered as the wealthiest and richest municipality in South Cotabato and the second richest municipality in Mindanao.

How many provinces are in South Cotabato?

Region 12 or SOCCSKSARGEN Region is located in South Central Mindanao. It is composed of 4 provinces namely: SOUTH COTABATO, COTABATO, SULTAN KUDARAT and SARANGANI as well as 5 cities namely: GENERAL SANTOS, COTABATO, KORONADAL, TACURONG AND KIDAPAWAN.

What is South Cotabato known for?

Known as the “ Land of the Dreamweavers”, South Cotabato is home to the T’boli tribe, known for their weaving art that bases its patterns on their dreams. Lakes, waterfalls, vast plantations and well-preserved tradition, South Cotabato opens the doors to the picturesque southern region of Mindanao.

What is the richest province in the Philippines?

Cebu headed the ranking of the wealthiest provinces in the Philippines with assets worth approximately 213.01 billion Philippine pesos in 2020.

How many municipalities are there in Region 12?


Soccsksargen Region XII Central Mindanao (formerly)
Cities 4 General Santos Kidapawan Koronadal Tacurong
Municipalities 45
Barangays 1,195 (1,095)
Congressional Districts in Soccsksargen Region 8

What South Cotabato is called?

The province, which is dubbed as the “Land of the Dreamweavers” is located in the southern part of Mindanao.

What is the history of South Cotabato?

Thus, on July 18, 1966, South Cotabato was finally formed as an independent province raring to push its own development. In 1992, South Cotabato gave birth to a new province. Seven towns in the southern and coastal section of the province now form part of the Province of Sarangani. That was a new challenge.

What is the poorest city in the Philippines?

The 15 poorest stated in the article is:

  • Lanao del Sur – 68.9%
  • Apayao – 59.8%
  • Eastern Samar – 59.4%
  • Maguindanao – 57.8%
  • Zamboanga del Norte – 50.3%
  • Davao Oriental – 48%
  • Ifugao – 47.5%
  • Sarangani – 46.5%