Is basic cardiac life support the same as BLS?

BLS stands for Basic Life Support or BCLS stands for Basic Cardiac Life Support. The terminology of BCLS has been replaced by BLS but it is the same CPR class. The initials of AHA stand for American Heart Association.

How do I get my BLS ACLS certificate?

It’s as easy as 1-2-3 steps

  1. Study each lesson and skills training video. Take Course. Download the handbook in your account under “My Active Courses”.
  2. Take the BLS Skills Training Test. Take the Skills Training Test.
  3. Take the BLS Certification Exam. Take the Exam.

Is CPR and BLS the same?

Basic life support (BLS) includes CPR but is an overall higher level of medical care typically administered by public safety professionals, first responders, paramedics, healthcare providers, and qualified bystanders.

Is American Heart Association same as BLS?

BLS Provider. This class format is OSHA, Government, and Workplace Compliant with the same certification as an in-person classroom.

What is a AHA certification?

Achieving an AHA certification demonstrates to patients, health care organizations, and the public, that the health care professional has met national performance standards specific to their job role.

How long is BLS good for?

two years
BLS cards are valid for two years from the date on your certificate. If your American Red Cross BLS certification is about to expire (or has expired and you’re within 30 days of its expiration), you can enroll in an abbreviated BLS course (a review course) and get recertified for two more years.

What is the difference between BLS and ACLS certification?

What is the difference between BLS and ACLS? Basic Life Support (BLS) is the generic term for any form of CPR and is required for all registered nurses. Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) is primarily required for RNs who work in a hospital setting and care for critically ill adults.

Is ACLS Certification hard?

Aside from my own experience, I often ask nurses what is was that made ACLS so difficult. Reasons why nurses find the ACLS course difficult include: The EKG Interpretation portion of Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support. Testing for a class that is hardly utilized in a specific field.

What are the 4 elements of basic life support?

It comprises the following elements: initial assessment, airway maintenance, expired air ventilation (rescue breathing; mouth-to-mouth ventilation) and chest compression. When all are combined the term cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) is used.

Which medical certification pays the most?

According to, the following are the top 10 highest paying healthcare certifications in demand:

  • Radiation therapist- $114,186 per year.
  • Physician Assistant- $105,627 per year.
  • Ultrasonographer- $91,520 per year.
  • Assistant in nursing- $90,577 per year.
  • Dental hygienist- $79,456 per year.

Is ACLS better than BLS?

The foremost distinction between ACLS and BLS is the level of advancement between the two. Essentially, ACLS is a more advanced and sophisticated course that builds upon the basic fundamentals you develop during BLS – as both of the names suggest.

What does basic life support cover?

Basic Life Support, or BLS, generally refers to the type of care that first-responders, healthcare providers and public safety professionals provide to anyone who is experiencing cardiac arrest, respiratory distress or an obstructed airway.