What are the 7 key categories within LEED?

The LEED® rating system has seven areas of concentration; Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality, Innovation in Design Process and Regional Priority.

What are the LEED categories?

There are four levels of certification:

  • Certified (40–49 points)
  • Silver (50–59 points)
  • Gold (60–79 points)
  • Platinum (80+ points)

What is individual occupant spaces in LEED?

individual occupant space an area where an occupant performs distinct tasks. Individual occupant spaces may be within multioccupant spaces and should be treated separately where possible.

What are the criteria for LEED certification?

LEED Certification Minimum Requirements

  • Be in compliance with environmental regulations and standards.
  • Must meet the threshold of floor area requirements.
  • Meet a minimum of building occupancy in terms of number of users.
  • Maintain a reasonable site boundary.
  • Be a permanent building.
  • Share energy and water usage data.

What are the three different tier credentials that can be earned through the LEED program?

Buildings can be certified LEED Certified, Silver, Gold or Platinum.

What is impact category in LEED?

The LEED impact categories outline the market transformation that the technical requirements then work to achieve and help determine where points should be assigned. The categories focus on the social, environmental and economic goals of LEED and that measure each strategy according to its ability to meet those goals.

What are the components of LEED?

LEED has five basic areas where a building owner can get points toward LEED Certification, they are: Sustainable Site, Water Efficiency, Energy & Atmosphere, Materials & Resources, and Indoor Environmental Quality. Let’s take a look at a selection of the components of each of these five categories.

What percentage of individual occupant spaces need individual controls?

For at least 50% of individual occupant spaces, have in place individual lighting controls that enable occupants to adjust the lighting to suit their individual tasks and preferences, with at least three lighting levels or scenes (on, off, midlevel).

Which of the following are considered regularly occupied spaces?

Examples of regularly occupied spaces include the following

Airplane hangar Hospital operating room
Data center security operations center Hospital laboratory
Dorm room Hospital nursing station
Exhibition hall Hospital solarium
Facilities staff office Hospital waiting room

What is the purpose of the LEED 40 60 rule?

The 40/60 rule is used to choose the appropriate rating system for the project if the project seems to fit under multiple rating systems. In the 40/60 rule, a project should be divided into sections according to the appropriate rating system each section fits.

What are the 4 levels of LEED certifications and their points requirements?

The 4 main levels of LEED Certification are Green, Silver, Gold and Platinum. Each of these levels is achieved after earning a certain amount of points in a LEED Certification analysis. Every project that signs up to be LEED Certified is looked at for a specific set of criteria, each worth a certain amount of points.

What are the six major LEED categories of building projects?

Under LEED 2009, an evaluated project scores points to a possible maximum of 100 across six categories: sustainable sites, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, materials and resources, indoor environment quality (IEQ) and design innovation.