How can we prevent teenage drunk driving?

7 ways to stop teens from drinking and driving, for real

  1. Set clear rules against drinking.
  2. Put a no drinking and driving rule in writing.
  3. Form an alliance with other parents.
  4. Create a secret code with your teen.
  5. Don’t make liquor available.
  6. Create a safety net for special occasions.
  7. Talk it through with your teen.

What happens when a minor gets a DUI in California?

This is the same DUI law that applies to adults, and an underage drinker can face the full range of criminal charges. This includes thousands of dollars of fines and court fees, up to six months in jail or juvenile custody, a three to nine month DUI course, suspension of your driver’s license, and years of probation.

What is Every 15 Minutes program?

The Every 15 Minutes program is a two-day program focusing on high school juniors and seniors, which challenges them to think about drinking, driving, personal safety, the responsibility of making mature decisions and the impact their decisions have on family, friends, their community, and many others.

What are some techniques to prevent drink driving?

The simplest way to avoid drunk-driving incidents is to stay away from alcoholic beverages. Grab a soda, seltzer, or coffee instead, or simply say, “no, thank you.” Never condone underage drinking, and never serve alcohol to minors. Set a curfew for your child, and always wait up for your teen to come home.

What are statistics that show that teenagers are more likely to be in accidents than their older peers?

The risk of motor vehicle crashes is higher among teens aged 16–19 than among any other age group. In fact, per mile driven, teen drivers in this age group are nearly three times as likely as drivers aged 20 or older to be in a fatal crash.

What can you do instead of getting into a car with an impaired driver?

If you’re drunk and need a ride home, you should never get behind the wheel of a car….Some of the top alternatives to drinking and driving include:

  • Appoint a designated driver.
  • Use public transportation.
  • Use a rideshare.

What are the first offense DUI consequences for a minor in California?

2.1. Rather, penalties under VC 23140 include: A one-year suspension of the driver’s license (for a first offense), A fine of $100 (for a first offense), 13 and. If the driver is at least 18, a mandatory alcohol education program of three months or longer.

What is the legal limit for drunk driving for minors under age 21 in California?

California, like all other states, maintains a zero tolerance policy towards drinking by a minor or driver under the age of 21. Vehicle Code 23136 makes it a civil offense for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.01%1. For adults, the legal limit is at 0.08%.

What is the Shattered Dreams program?

Shattered Dreams is a two-day, school-based program that promotes responsible decision-making among high school students regarding underage drinking and impaired driving (driving after drinking or riding with a drinking driver) by showing them how irresponsible choices can end all dreams.

Does Every 15 Minutes work?

Studies that have tracked students before and after the Every 15 Minutes program have shown that the program may have a favorable short-term effect on students’ stated attitudes but no effect on actual behavior.

What is the single best way to prevent drinking and driving accidents from happening?

How Can I Avoid Drunk Driving Accidents?

  1. Buckle Your Seatbelt. Properly using your seatbelt is your number one defense against a drunk driver.
  2. Maintain a Generous Following Distance.
  3. Use Extra Caution at Intersections.
  4. Avoid Driving Late at Night.
  5. Holidays Can Be Hazardous.
  6. Be a Designated Driver.

Which is the best strategy for protecting yourself if you suspect another driver is drunk group of answer choices?

Which of the following is a good strategy for protecting yourself if you suspect another driver is drunk? Avoid that vehicle by pulling off the road or turning at the nearest intersection and report them to police.