What are the classifications of disability?

Disability can be broken down into a number of broad sub-categories, which include the following 8 main types of disability.

  • Mobility/Physical.
  • Spinal Cord (SCI)
  • Head Injuries (TBI)
  • Vision.
  • Hearing.
  • Cognitive/Learning.
  • Psychological.
  • Invisible.

What are the 4 types of impairment?

Hearing Impairment

  • Hearing Impairment.
  • Visual Impairment.
  • Physical Impairment.

What is the Whodas scale?

The adult self-administered version of the World Health Organization Disability Assessment Schedule 2.0 (WHODAS 2.0) is a 36-item measure that assesses disability in adults age 18 years and older.

How does the ICF define disability?

The International Classification of Functioning Disability and Health (ICF) 1. ICF defines Disability: as functioning in multiple life areas. Simply seeing, walking, taking a bath, working, going to school, accessing social services and many such domains are included in the definition. 2.

What are the 13 categories of disabilities?

To be covered, a child’s school performance must be “adversely affected” by a disability in one of the 13 categories below.

  • Specific learning disability (SLD)
  • Other health impairment.
  • Autism spectrum disorder (ASD)
  • Emotional disturbance.
  • Speech or language impairment.
  • Visual impairment, including blindness.
  • Deafness.

What are the 7 types of disability?


  • Low-vision.
  • Leprosy Cured persons.
  • Hearing Impairment (deaf and hard of hearing)
  • Locomotor Disability.
  • Dwarfism.
  • Intellectual Disability.
  • Mental Illness.
  • What are the 21 types of disabilities?

    Types of Disabilities, PwD Act 2016 (List and Definition)

    • Blindness:
    • Low-vision:
    • Leprosy Cured persons:
    • Hearing Impairment (deaf and hard of hearing):
    • Locomotor Disability:
    • Dwarfism:
    • Intellectual Disability:
    • Mental Illness:

    What does a Whodas score of 12 mean?

    We employed the WHO simple scoring method [1] that gives a 12-item WHODAS 2.0 score range from 12 to 60, where higher scores indicate higher disability or loss of function. This type of straightforward additive scoring has been shown to correlate strongly (r>. 98, ρ=.

    How do you read a Whodas score?

    WHODAS 2.0 Summary Scores: There are two basic options for computing the summary scores for the WHODAS 2.0 36-item full version. Simple: The scores assigned to each of the items—“none” (1), “mild” (2), “moderate” (3), “severe” (4), and “extreme” (5)—are summed.

    Does ICF measure disability?

    ICF is the WHO framework for measuring health and disability at both individual and population levels. ICF was officially endorsed by all 191 WHO Member States in the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly on 22 May 2001(resolution WHA 54.21) as the international standard to describe and measure health and disability.

    What are the 14 types of disabilities?

    The majority of IDEA appropriations are allocated to states by formula to carry out activities under Part B, which covers 14 disability categories: (1) autism, (2) deaf-blindness, (3) deafness, (4) emotional disturbance, (5) hearing impairment, (6) intellectual disability, (7) multiple disabilities, (8) orthopedic …

    What is PWD category ABCD?

    03. *Details of PWD Category. Category A – Blindness and Low Vision. Category B – Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Category C – Locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy.

    Is the International Classification of impairments and disabilities and Handicaps (ICIDH) international?

    Introduction ICF 26 54thWorld Health Assembly endorsement of ICF for international use The resolution WHA54.21 reads as follows: The Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, 1. ENDORSES the second edition of the International Classification of Impairments, Disabilities and Handicaps (ICIDH), with the title International

    Why are the components of functioning and disability classified as classified?

    classified in ICF because of the large social and cultural variance associated with them. The components of Functioning and Disability in Part 1 of ICF can be expressed in two ways. On the one hand, they can be used to indicate problems (e.g. impairment, activity limitation or participation restriction summarized under the

    How many people in the world have a disability?

    Key facts. Over a billion people, about 15% of the world’s population, have some form of disability. Between 110 million and 190 million adults have significant difficulties in functioning. Rates of disability are increasing due to population ageing and increases in chronic health conditions, among other causes.

    What is a disability?

    ICF Taxonomic and terminological issues 221 Disabilityis an umbrella term for impairments, activity limitations and participation restrictions. It denotes the negative aspects of the interaction