What is Seattle sick leave law?

Seattle’s Paid Sick and Safe Time (PSST) Ordinance went into effect on September 1, 2012. This law requires employers to provide employees who work in Seattle with paid leave: To care for themselves or a family member for a physical or mental health condition, including a doctor appointment.

Does Seattle have paid sick leave?

In Seattle, the law requires employers to provide all employees with paid sick and safe time. This includes full-time, part- time, temporary, exempt, and non-exempt employees. How much PSST do employees get? Paid Sick and Safe Time is earned over time.

How many sick days are required by law in Washington state?

At a minimum, you must provide one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked by an employee, regardless of full-time, part-time, temporary, or seasonal status. You must pay your employee’s normal hourly rate for paid sick leave hours that they use.

Are employers required to pay sick leave in Washington state?

Washington state law requires employers to provide paid sick leave to their employees. It also sets the minimum requirements for an employer’s paid sick leave policy. You may not need a written paid sick leave policy, but having one is highly recommended.

How does sick leave work in Washington state?

Washington state sick leave law requires that employees must be provided with one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours that they work. It does not matter if your employee is a full-time, part-time, temporary, or seasonal worker.

Can you cash out sick leave in Washington State?

Yes. Although employees must be allowed to carry-over up to 40 hours of unused paid sick leave to the next year, an employer may elect to cash out an employee’s accrued, unused paid sick leave balance which exceeds 40 hours.

Does Washington state pay out PTO?

So, if you’re in a state that requires you to pay out unused vacation time, you’ll likely have to pay out all accrued PTO when an employee is terminated….PTO payout laws by state.

Do I have to pay out unused PTO? Are there any conditions?
Utah No No
Vermont No No
Virginia No No
Washington No No

How many days can you be off sick without a doctor’s note?

If you’re off work sick for 7 days or less, your employer should not ask for medical evidence that you’ve been ill. Instead they can ask you to confirm that you’ve been ill. You can do this by filling in a form yourself when you return to work. This is called self-certification.

How does Washington state paid sick leave work?

How many sick days do you get a year in Washington?

You earn a minimum of 1 hour of sick time for every 40 hours you work. If you work full-time, this adds up to about six and a half sick days over the course of a year. If you don’t use all your time one year, up to 40 hours of sick time can roll over into the next year.

How does sick pay work in Washington state?

Can my employer refuse to pay me sick pay?

Employer discretion Your employer can choose to make an exception and pay you sick pay even if you don’t qualify under the company rules. Also, some sick pay schemes say that payments are ‘at the employer’s discretion’, which means your employer can refuse payment if they think the absence is unjustified.