What is the best winning score at the Masters?

The record belongs to Tiger Woods, who won the 1997 Masters with a then-record 18-under-par final score. The next closest golfer was Tom Kite at 6 under, meaning Woods won by 12 strokes. It is the only double-digit win in Masters history. MASTERS 2022 PURSE: How much prize money does the winner make?

What is the average Masters winning score?

While plenty of golfers won with low scores, such as Jack Nicklaus’ 271 (-17) in 1965, the average winning score at the Masters from 1934 through 1989 was -7.29. Since 1990 the average winning score has been -10.72. Recently it’s dipped even lower, with the average winning score from 2010-2018 dropping to -11.56.

How does the Masters tournament scoring work?

The aim is to use the least number of strokes (golfers want to be “under par”). After round two, the players are ranked and only the top 50 scores (including ties) go through. Everyone else leaves the competition. At the end of the final day, the player with the best score is crowned the champion.

What is the best 72 hole score at the Masters?

Historical Records & Stats

Low 72 Holes
273 (67-68-69-69) Cameron Smith (Australia) 2020 (non-winner)
273 (66-70-68-69) Sungjae Im (Korea) 2020 (non-winner)

What is the average score to win the Masters Tournament?

(ignore the first bar above “to par” — that’s showing you that this is a bar graph). The most common winning score for the Masters is 8 under. That is followed by 9 under and 12 under. Interestingly, 15 under has never won the tournament.

Who has won the most times at the Masters?

Jack Nicklaus holds the record for the most Masters victories, winning the tournament six times during his career. Nicklaus is also the oldest winner of the Masters: he was 46 years 82 days old when he won in 1986.

How much money does the Masters winner get paid?

Today, the Masters winner takes home more than $2 million, one of the largest payouts on the PGA Tour, along with the green jacket. However, the payouts haven’t been so handsome throughout Masters history.

Who is the current champion at the Masters?

Hideki Matsuyama is the current champion. He won the 2021 Masters Tournament with a score of 278 (−10). Arnold Palmer, four-time Masters Champion 1958, 1960, 1962, and 1964. He is one of five champions to win wire-to-wire with his victory in 1960.