Why is Koronadal called Marbel?

The name Koronadal originated from two B’laan words koron or kolon meaning cogon grass and nadal or datal meaning plain. In the past, the place was called Marbel which comes from B’laan word that means murky waters. Such names best described the place when the City was inhabited by the natives.

How many barangays are there in Koronadal?

twenty-seven Barangays
Koronadal City is politically subdivided into twenty-seven Barangays with four zones in the Poblacion area.

What is the biggest barangay in Philippines?


  • ^ By virtue of Presidential Decree No. 557, s. 1974.
  • ^ Excluding barangays whose population declined to zero due to various reasons.
  • ^ a b Barangay 176 or Bagong Silang in Caloocan is the largest barangay in the Philippines in terms of land area and population.

How many barangays are in South Cotabato?

199 barangays
Moreover, South Cotabato has a total of 199 barangays and two (2) more are being proposed and still waiting for the approval of the Commission on Elections (COMELEC). These proposed barangays are both under the municipality of T’boli.

What is the meaning of SOCCSKSARGEN?

SOCCSKSARGEN is an an acronym that stands for the region’s four (4) provinces and one (1) city: South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani and General Santos City.

What is the capital of Cotabato?

Cotabato now comprises the capital city of Kidapawan and 17 municipalities.

What is the capital of Sarangani?

Its capital is Alabel. With a 230-kilometre coastline along the Sarangani Bay and Celebes Sea, the province is at the southernmost tip of Mindanao island, and borders South Cotabato and Davao del Sur to the north, Davao Occidental to the east, and the Celebes Sea to the south.

How many barangays are in Caloocan?


Caloocan Kalookan
Cityhood February 16, 1962
Highly urbanized city December 22, 1979
Barangays 188 (see Barangays)

What district is Barangay 176 Caloocan?

Barangay 176 is a barangay in the city of Caloocan. Its population as determined by the 2020 Census was 261,729. This represented 15.75% of the total population of Caloocan….Contents.

Type barangay
Island group Luzon
Region National Capital Region (NCR)
City Caloocan
Population (2020) 261,729

What are the barangays in Cotabato City?


  • Bagua Mother.
  • Bagua I.
  • Bagua II.
  • Bagua III.
  • Kalanganan Mother.
  • Kalanganan I.
  • Kalanganan II.
  • Poblacion Mother.

How many barangays are in North Cotabato?

The province of Cotabato is composed of seventeen (17) municipalities and one (1) city with five hundred forty three (543) legally created barangays, with Kidapawan City as its Capital.

What is the capital of South Cotabato?

South Cotabato

South Cotabato Timog Cotabato (Filipino)
Founded July 18, 1966
Capital Koronadal
Largest city General Santos City

How many barangays are there in Cotabato City?

Cotabato City has 27 urban barangays as classified by Philippine Statistics Authority. Under the Köppen climate classification system, Cotabato City features a tropical rainforest climate ( Af ), falling just short of a tropical monsoon climate ( Am ). Pop. Pop.

What are the barangays in Caloocan City North?

Caloocan City North consists of several subdivisions and Barangays such as Barangay Bagong Silang Barangay 176 considered as the largest and most populous in the city with a population of 221874 people. District 1 and District 2. Caloocan in the Philippines is divided into barangays. List of Barangay Captains in Caloocan City.

What is the importance of Cotabato Province in the Philippines?

Cotabato Province ranks first in the region in rice and rubber production, second in corn and produces organic coco sugar and delicious tropical fruits. It hosts processing plants for palm oil, sugar cane and rubber. The Mount Apo Geothermal Power plant in Kidapawan City generates 52 megawatts.

Is Maguindanao part of Cotabato province?

Now many sources consider the city as part of the present Cotabato province, although geographically it is still considered part of Maguindanao. The city has traditionally resisted efforts for its inclusion to the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao despite serving as the government center of the region.